The 2022 Home Run Derby Field Is Officially Set

A baseball with MLB logo is seen at Citizens Bank Park before a game between the Washington Nationals and Philadelphia Phillies on June 28, 2018 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
(Photo by Mitchell Leff/Getty Images)


The MLB All-Star week festivities are almost upon us.

With Corey Seager choosing to join the field for the T-Mobile Home Run Derby, all the Derby matchups are set.

Kyle Schwarber, Pete Alonso, Seager, Juan Soto, Jose Ramirez, Julio Rodriguez, Ronald Acuna Jr. and Albert Pujols are the eight contestants.

The Derby will take place on Monday, July 18 at Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles.

Eight of the best hitters in all of baseball will take their talents to All-Star week and show the entire baseball world what they are capable of and put their power on full display.

MLB tweeted a graphic featuring all the contestants.


Ready, Set, Action

This is going to be fun.

All eight of these hitters are world class and are fully capable of putting on a show for all baseball fans to see.

The matchups are as follows.

Schwarber is the No. 1 seed and will be facing off against Pujols, the No. 8 seed, while the 2-7 matchup features Alonso, the two-time defending champ, and Acuna.

Seager is the No. 3 seed and will be facing the No. 6 seed in Rodriguez, and our 4-5 matchup features Soto and Ramirez.

Again, the Derby will take place at Dodger Stadium, and while no current members of the Los Angeles Dodgers are competing in the Derby, two former Dodgers will be there.

Seager, now with the Texas Rangers, is a longtime fan favorite in L.A.

Pujols, now back with the St. Louis Cardinals for his final season, also was a key member of the Dodgers in 2021.

We’ll see how the matchups play out and who ultimately wins.

It would be a nice treat for the city of Los Angeles though to see a finals matchup with Seager and Pujols.

Source link

Related Articles