Photo Reminds Braves Fans Of Their Golden Era


A detailed view of the hat worn by Austin Riley #27 of the Atlanta Braves following Game Six of the National League Championship Series at Truist Park on October 23, 2021 in Atlanta, Georgia. The Braves defeated the Dodgers 4-2 to advance to the 2021 World Series.
(Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)


The Atlanta Braves may have won just one World Series title in the 90s.

However, there is no denying that was their golden era: they lost two consecutive World Series in 1991 and 1992, won it in 1995, then made two more in 1996 and 1999, dropping both.

Their rotation was marvelous, and was one of the main reasons behind their success.

They had the luxury of employing three Hall of Famers who dominated an era: Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine, and John Smoltz.

“They accounted for 7 of 8 Cy Young Awards between 1991-1998,” Baseball History Nut tweeted.

Four of those Cy Young awards were won by Maddux, perhaps the league’s premier command artist in the 90s (and in history).

Maddux was atop the league in 1992, 1993, 1994, and 1995.

Glavine took home the award in 1991 and 1998, while Smoltz won it in 1996.

Only Pedro Martinez was able to win one for “the field”, when he dominated with the Montreal Expos in 1997 en route to taking the award.

The Braves kept on dominating the NL East in the late-1990s and early-2000s.

Their next World Series title, however, wouldn’t come until 2021 (long after the trio’s retirement) as they were led by Freddie Freeman.

Still, even though their era of dominance “only” yielded one World Series title in 1995, there is no denying that Maddux, Smoltz, and Glavine were the owners of an entire decade, and that’s extremely impressive in an era in which steroids started to become widespread.

They are all Braves legends and have their deserved place as Hall of Famers as a result.

Source link

Related Articles