Long List Of NFL Legends Await 2023 Hall Of Fame Consideration


A detailed view of the NFL logo is seen at SoFi Stadium during the game between the Arizona Cardinals and the Los Angeles Rams on October 03, 2021 in Inglewood, California.
(Photo by Katelyn Mulcahy/Getty Images)


The NFL has released the list of nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2023.

NBC Sports Bay Area reporter Matt Maiocco revealed nine former players that are eligible nominees for the first time.

Included in that list is offensive lineman Joe Thomas who holds the league record for most consecutive snaps played.

Thomas spent his entire 11-season career with the Cleveland Browns and had eight All-Pro selections.

Meanwhile, Jahri Evans played 12 NFL seasons and was a five-time All-Pro.

He also won Super Bowl XLIV with the New Orleans Saints and made it to six Pro Bowls.

Both Thomas and Evans are part of the NFL 2010s All-Decade Team.

Chris Johnson is the other offensive player left on the first-time eligible list.

He became the 2009 Offensive Player of the Year after rushing for 2,006 yards and 14 touchdowns.

Johnson finished his career with 9,651 yards, one All-Pro selection, and three Pro Bowl nods.


First-Time Eligible Defensive Players

NaVorro Bowman played eight seasons with the San Francisco 49ers and the Oakland Raiders.

He became an All-Pro four times and made 798 tackles in his career.

There’s also Dwight Freeney, who helped the Indianapolis Colts win Super Bowl XLI.

He played 16 NFL seasons, 11 of which were with the Colts.

Freeney had four All-Pro and seven Pro Bowl selections.

Pittsburgh Steelers fans will forever remember James Harrison for his pick-six in Super Bowl XLIII.

But aside from being a two-time Super Bowl champion, he was also the 2008 Defensive Player of the Year and a four-time Pro Bowler.

Darrelle Revis, one of the best shutdown cornerbacks of his time, completed his career by winning Super Bowl XLIX with the New England Patriots.

He made the All-Pro four times and the Pro Bowl seven times.

Finally, Kam Chancellor was part of the Legion of Boom that won Super Bowl XLVIII.

He has two All-Pro and four Pro Bowl selections to his name.

Source link

Related Articles